Get free daily email updates
Search Story Archive

Personnel File- People on the Move, June 11, 2019

By NSF Staff


KIM RIVERS, BARRY GORDON, DAVID KOTLER, MICHELLE WEINER, ZACHARY KOBRIN, DAN RUSSELL, DAVID CORN, CAMERON VANCE, SALLY KENT PEEBLES, JACEL DELGADILLO, ERIC STEVENS, MIKE SMUTS, RON WATSON, ANTOINETTE DUNCAN, PETER BARSOOM, PAUL MESSER, KAREN SEEB GOLDSTEIN AND ELAINE GELLER have been named by Agriculture Commissioner Nikki Fried to the Medical Marijuana Advisory Committee. Rivers is CEO of Trulieve. Gordon, a doctor, is owner and chief medical officer of the Compassionate Cannabis Clinic. Kotler is a partner in Cohen Kotler P.A. Weiner, a doctor, is certified in interventional pain management and physical medicine and rehabilitation. Kobrin advises cannabis and hemp industry clients on legal, regulatory, and business development issues. Russell is an attorney with Dean, Mead & Dunbar. Corn, a doctor, specializes in podiatry and founded Western Massachusetts Podiatry Associates, PC. Vance is co-founder and chief information officer at Medical Marijuana Treatment Clinics of Florida. Peebles is a partner at Vicente Sederberg LLP. Delgadillo co-founded the nonprofit CannaMoms. Stevens is director of business development at Kaycha Group. Smuts is a cannabis industry consultant. Watson is a lobbyist and director of governmental relations for MuV. Duncan is president and CEO of Duncan Life Sciences. Barsoom founded 1906, an edibles company. Messer is a Parkinson’s disease patient. Goldstein is executive director of NORML of Florida and vice chairman of Regulate Florida. Geller is vice president of legislative affairs at Amercanex. 

JOANNE MCCALL has been named executive director of the Pinellas Classroom Teachers Association and Pinellas Educational Support Professionals Association. McCall is a former president of the Florida Education Association.

TESHA BALLOU has been appointed by Gov. Ron DeSantis as a judge in the 18th Judicial Circuit, which is made up of Seminole and Brevard counties. Ballou, of Sanford, has been a general magistrate for Seminole County since 2015.

STEPHANIE SILVER AND ZACHARY JAMES have been appointed by Gov. Ron DeSantis as Miami-Dade County judges. Silver, of Miami, has been assistant state attorney in the 11th Circuit since 2000. James, of Miami, has been a partner at Meland, Russin and Budwick P.A. since 2011. 

CHARLES YOUNG has been appointed by Gov. Ron DeSantis as an Escambia County judge. Young, of Pensacola, has been an attorney at Clark Partington & Hart.

ANTHONY SALEM has been appointed by Gov. Ron DeSantis as a Duval County judge. Salem, of Jacksonville, has been an assistant general counsel for the city of Jacksonville since 2017.

ANTHONY MILLER has been appointed by Gov. Ron DeSantis as a Leon County judge. Miller has served as general counsel and chief ethics officer for Florida’s Agency for State Technology since 2017.

BRAD ASHWELL has been named Florida state director of All Voting is Local. Ashwell’s previous positions have included research associate with Integrity Florida and legislative director for the Florida Alliance for Consumer Protection.

DANIEL TILLEY has been named legal director of the American Civil Liberties Union of Florida. Tilley has worked as an attorney for the organization since 2012.

BOB ROMMEL has been named to the Florida Advisory Committee of the United States Global Leadership Coalition. Rommel, a Naples Republican, represents District 106 in the Florida House.

DAMON ANDREW has been named president-elect of the North American Society for Sport Management. Andrew is dean of the Florida State University College of Education.

--- Got a new chief of staff, executive director, campaign manager, press secretary, spokesperson or otherwise important new person in your office or organization? The News Service welcomes personnel announcements, which are aggregated for periodic publication. Please send announcements to and include contact information.